Twelve rental branches at Okayama Station: how to choose
Okayama Station has 12 rental branches from eight companies. Seven are on the west-exit side and five on the east-exit side, and every one is within walking distance of the station (1 to 7 minutes). Toyota's three branches and Times state they have no shuttle; the others give walking directions.
This page compares which exit each branch is nearest, opening hours, one-way rentals, and the reference price at each company on Japanese and foreign licences.
- Collecting the car quickly: on the west side, Toyota Okayama Station West Exit and Orix Okayama Station West Exit are 1 minute on foot, and Toyota West Exit Square is 2 minutes. On the east side, Eki Rent-a-Car is 130 m to the right of the east exit under the Shinkansen viaduct, and Toyota Okayama Station Front is behind Takashimaya.
- Early morning or late evening: Nippon's east-exit branch is open 07:00–21:00, the widest hours of any branch. The others open at 08:00 and mostly close at 20:00; Budget closes at 19:00 and Heisei at 18:00.
- Returning somewhere else: Toyota's three branches and Orix's two accept returns at other branches (Toyota inside and outside the prefecture; Orix except Hokkaido, Okinawa and outlying islands).
- Keeping the cost down: on standard rates before discounts on a Japanese licence, Heisei is cheapest at ¥7,700 for a compact for 24 hours. Eki Rent-a-Car is ¥8,470, and Toyota and Budget are the cheapest of the major companies at ¥8,580.
Compare the 12 Okayama Station branches
Branch names link to their official pages. The numbers identify the branches and are not a ranking.
| No. and branch | Address and phone | Hours | Access | Returns, ETC card and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Toyota Okayama Station West Exit | 11-10 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町11-10); 086-254-0100 | 08:00–20:00; 09:00–18:00 from 31 December to 3 January; no closing days | 1 minute on foot from the west exit, diagonally opposite NHK Okayama | One-way rentals in both directions, inside and outside the prefecture; no 1-number (truck) vehicles. ETC card rental available |
| 2. Toyota Okayama Station West Exit Square | 18-3 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町18-3); 086-253-0100 | 08:00–20:00; no closing days | 2 minutes on foot from the west exit, north of ANA Crown Plaza Hotel Okayama | One-way rentals in both directions, inside and outside the prefecture. ETC card rental available |
| 3. Toyota Okayama Station Front | 7-25 Honmachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区本町7-25); 086-221-4325 | 08:00–20:00; no closing days | East exit, behind Takashimaya; right by the Takashimaya-side exit of the Ichibangai underground mall | One-way rentals in both directions, but none on 8 November 2026. 1- and 2-number vehicles cannot be picked up or returned. ETC card rental available |
| 4. Nippon Okayama Station East Exit | 6-7 Nishikicho, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区錦町6-7); 050-1712-2458 | 07:00–21:00 | 5 minutes on foot from the east exit | Accepts cars rented at other branches only in the kei, passenger car, wagon, van and kei truck classes; one-way from here not confirmed |
| 5. Nippon Okayama Station West Exit | 19-9 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町19-9); 050-1712-2466 | 08:00–20:00; 09:00–18:00 on 31 December 2026 and 3 January 2027; closed 1–2 January 2027 | 3 minutes on foot from the west exit | Accepts cars rented at other branches only in the kei, passenger car, wagon, van and kei truck classes; one-way from here not confirmed |
| 6. Orix Okayama Station West Exit | 30-17 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町30-17); 086-259-1543 | 08:00–20:00; check the business calendar for special days | 1 minute on foot from the JR Okayama Station west exit | One-way rentals in both directions except Hokkaido, Okinawa and outlying islands; none for cars 500 cm or longer, 185 cm or taller, or WA class and above. ETC card rental available |
| 7. Orix Okayama Station East Exit | 2-6-113 Shimoishii, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区下石井2-6-113); 086-226-3900 | 08:00–20:00; check the business calendar for special days | 7 minutes on foot from the east exit, south of AEON Mall Okayama | One-way rentals in both directions except Hokkaido, Okinawa and outlying islands. ETC card rental available |
| 8. Nissan Okayama Station West Exit | 6-32 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町6-32); 086-255-2321 | 08:00–20:00 (the branch list also shows "open 24 hours") | 2 minutes on foot to the south of the JR west exit. Self check-in available | One-way terms are not stated in the branch list. ETC card rental available |
| 9. Times Car Okayama Station West Exit | 350-6 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町350-6); 086-254-8954 | 08:00–20:00; open all year | About 5 minutes on foot from the JR west exit. No shuttle | Cars rented at other branches can be returned only within height and length limits (the limits are not confirmed); one-way from here not confirmed |
| 10. Budget Okayama Station West Exit | 1-3 Showamachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区昭和町1-3); 086-250-8543 | 08:00–19:00 | About 5 minutes on foot from the west exit, at the corner of the Okayama Station West Exit intersection | — |
| 11. Heisei Okayama Station | 2-3-25 Ekimaecho, Le Fon Okayama Ekimae 1F, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅前町2-3-25 ルフォン岡山駅前1F); 086-207-2205 | 08:00–18:00; open all year | 5 minutes on foot from the JR east exit | — |
| 12. Eki Rent-a-Car Okayama | 1-1-201 Ekimotomachi, Kita-ku, Okayama (岡山市北区駅元町1-1-201); 086-224-1363 | 08:00–20:00 from 2 January to 30 December; 08:00–18:00 on 31 December and 1 January | Leave the east exit and turn right; it is 130 m on, under the Shinkansen viaduct | The official page says one-way is possible, but the directions are not stated. ETC card rental available |
Reference prices: standard rates at eight companies
This table takes each company's standard rate for a compact car, with the total for two days including basic collision damage waiver (CDW). These are regular-season, tax-inclusive rates before discounts, on a Japanese licence.
| Company and class | First 24 hours | Additional day | Basic CDW per day | 48 hours with basic CDW | Minivan (7–8 seats), 24 hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heisei S1 (Fit, Yaris, Swift, Roomy) | ¥7,700 | ¥6,600 | ¥1,100 | ¥16,500 | ¥18,334 |
| Eki Rent-a-Car S (Fit, Yaris) | ¥8,470 | ¥7,150 | ¥1,100 | ¥17,820 | ¥22,550 |
| Budget JS (Yaris, Fit) | ¥8,580 | ¥7,040 | ¥1,430 | ¥18,480 | ¥21,010 |
| Toyota C1 (Yaris, Passo) | ¥8,580 | ¥7,260 | ¥1,100 | ¥18,040 | ¥20,900 |
| Times C-1 (Mazda2, Note e-POWER) | ¥8,855 | ¥7,920 | ¥1,100 | ¥18,975 | ¥22,770 |
| Nippon N-B (Fit, Corolla) | ¥8,910 | ¥7,150 | ¥1,100 | ¥18,260 | ¥22,550 |
| Nissan P2 (March, Note) | ¥9,790 | ¥7,700 | ¥1,650 | ¥20,790 | ¥24,090 |
| Orix SA (Fit, Note 1.2) | ¥9,900 | ¥7,920 | ¥1,100 | ¥20,020 | ¥22,660 |
- The 48-hour total is the first 24 hours, one additional day and two days of basic CDW. A dash means the company's rate table does not list that fee. Where basic CDW shows "Included", the rate already contains it. Extra hours, fuel, one-way fees and options such as child seats are not included.
- Most companies offer member or online discounts, so the booking screen is often cheaper than this table. Peak periods such as Golden Week, Obon and New Year cost more. Enter your dates and class for the actual price.
- Toyota has member discounts of 10% and 20%.
- Budget has a web member rate at 10% off.
- Times has member rates of up to 20% off.
- Nippon has a separate member rate table.
- Nissan's basic CDW is calculated on the Standard Plan at ¥1,650 a day.
- Orix has member discounts and a 5% web discount.
Prices differ by licence. The table uses the Japanese-licence rate. On a foreign licence, Toyota C1 is ¥10,340 for the first 24 hours and ¥8,690 for each additional 24 hours, before optional cover; the Toyota row above uses the separate Japanese-licence rates of ¥8,580 and ¥7,260. For the other companies, get a quote for your own licence.
There are two routes. With an International Driving Permit, you need the booklet-type permit issued under the 1949 Geneva Convention, and you may drive for one year from the day you land in Japan or until one year after the permit was issued, whichever is earlier. With a licence from Switzerland, Germany, France, Belgium, Monaco or Taiwan, you need the original licence with an official Japanese translation (for example from JAF), and you may drive for one year from the day you land or until the licence itself expires, whichever is earlier. On either route you need your passport, and it must show your landing date. If you are registered as a resident of Japan, a re-entry within three months of leaving does not start the period again. See driving in Japan on a foreign licence.
Choose a branch by west or east exit
How far you walk depends on which exit you leave by. Pick a branch on the same side as your hotel or next stop, so you do not cross the station.
- West exit: Toyota Okayama Station West Exit (1 minute, diagonally opposite NHK Okayama), Orix West Exit (1 minute), Toyota West Exit Square (2 minutes, north of ANA Crown Plaza Hotel Okayama), Nippon West Exit (3 minutes), Nissan (2 minutes, to the south of the west exit), Times (about 5 minutes) and Budget (about 5 minutes, at the Okayama Station West Exit intersection).
- East exit: Toyota Okayama Station Front (behind Takashimaya, by the Takashimaya-side exit of the Ichibangai underground mall), Eki Rent-a-Car (130 m to the right of the exit), Nippon East Exit (5 minutes), Heisei (5 minutes) and Orix East Exit (7 minutes, south of AEON Mall Okayama).
Toyota has three branches: two on the west side and one, Okayama Station Front, on the east side. The "Station Front" name does not mean the west exit.
Work back from closing times, including New Year
Closing times run from 18:00 to 21:00. Heisei closes at 18:00 and Budget at 19:00. Toyota's three branches, Orix's two, Nissan, Times, Nippon West Exit and Eki Rent-a-Car close at 20:00, and Nippon East Exit at 21:00.
Hours change at New Year. Toyota Okayama Station West Exit is open 09:00–18:00 from 31 December to 3 January. Nippon West Exit is open 09:00–18:00 on 31 December 2026 and 3 January 2027, and closed on 1 and 2 January. Eki Rent-a-Car is open 08:00–18:00 on 31 December and 1 January.
One-way rentals: check the direction and vehicle limits
A one-way rental can mean two things: renting here and returning elsewhere, or returning here a car rented elsewhere. Check which one applies to you.
- Toyota's three branches accept both, inside and outside the prefecture. Okayama Station West Exit excludes 1-number (truck) vehicles, and Okayama Station Front excludes 1- and 2-number vehicles (neither can be picked up or returned there) and takes no one-way rentals on 8 November 2026. The West Exit Square branch lists no vehicle restriction.
- Orix's two branches accept both (except Hokkaido, Okinawa and outlying islands). At the West Exit branch, cars 500 cm or longer, 185 cm or taller, or WA class and above cannot go one-way; the East Exit branch lists no such size limit.
- Nippon's two branches accept cars rented elsewhere only in the kei, passenger car, wagon, van and kei truck classes. Check on the booking screen whether you can choose a return branch when you rent here.
- Times limits the height and length of cars rented elsewhere and returned here.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a shuttle from the station?
All 12 branches are 1 to 7 minutes on foot from the station. Toyota's three branches and Times Car Okayama Station West Exit state that they have no shuttle; the other branches give walking directions and do not mention a shuttle.
Can I rent an ETC card?
ETC card rental is confirmed at Toyota's three branches, Orix's two, Nissan and Eki Rent-a-Car. Ask the other branches when you book.
What does a two-day rental cost?
On standard rates before discounts, a compact with basic CDW for two days comes to ¥18,040–¥20,020 across the 5 major companies, ¥16,500 at Heisei, ¥17,820 at Eki Rent-a-Car on a Japanese licence. On a foreign licence, Toyota’s base rate is higher; see the price section above.
Guides to read before booking
Sources & photo creditsLast verified 2026-11-04
- Toyota Okayama Station West Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Toyota Okayama Station West Exit Square (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Toyota Okayama Station Front (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Nippon Okayama Station East Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Nippon Okayama Station West Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Orix Okayama Station West Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Orix Okayama Station East Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Nissan Okayama Station West Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Times Car Okayama Station West Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Budget Okayama Station West Exit (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Heisei Okayama Station (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Eki Rent-a-Car Okayama (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Toyota: official rate table (class C1 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nippon: official rate table (class N-B and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nippon: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Orix: official rate table (class SA and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Orix: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nissan: official rate table (class P2 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nissan: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Times Car: official rate table (class C-1 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Times Car: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Budget: official rate table (class JS and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Budget: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Heisei: official rate table (class S1 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Heisei: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Eki Rent-a-Car: official rate table (class S and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Toyota Rent a Car: foreign-licence rate schedule (official page, in English) · 2026-11-04
- Toyota Rent a Car: driver's licence requirements (official page, in English) · 2026-11-04
- National Police Agency: how long an International Driving Permit or foreign licence is valid in Japan (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- JAF: Japanese translations of foreign driver's licences (official page, in English) · 2026-11-04



