Fourteen rental companies at Hakodate Airport: how to choose
Hakodate Airport, on the southern tip of Hokkaido, has 14 rental companies at 14 locations. Most branches are in Takamatsucho, in front of the airport, and most companies either check you in at a counter inside the airport and send a shuttle, or ask you to phone after landing. The Nissan counter in the arrivals lobby also handles Eki Rent-a-Car bookings.
This page compares how each company handles check-in and the shuttle, opening hours (which change by season), one-way rentals, and the reference price at each company on Japanese and foreign licences.
- Landing early: most branches open at 08:00. Times and HIPS open at 08:30, and One's opens at 08:30 on weekdays.
- Landing in the evening: from November to March, Toyota, Nippon, Orix, Budget, Apple and Eki Rent-a-Car close at 19:00; the hours of Nissan, Worldnet, J-Net and J Trip Car Rentals are not confirmed. From April to October Toyota is open until 20:00, and Budget is usually open until 20:00. Times closes at 17:00.
- Returning somewhere else: Toyota accepts one-way rentals inside and outside the area. Orix accepts them within Hokkaido only. Nippon and Times accept cars rented at other branches.
- Keeping the cost down: on standard rates before discounts on a Japanese licence, a compact for 24 hours is ¥8,470 at Eki Rent-a-Car, ¥8,580 at Toyota and Budget, and ¥8,855 at Times. One's company-wide rate is ¥4,400 (mainly used cars, with rates that vary by branch), but the rate at this booking-only branch for air travellers is not confirmed.
Compare the 14 Hakodate Airport locations
Branch names link to their official pages. The numbers identify the locations and are not a ranking.
| No. and branch | Address and phone | Hours | Access | Returns, ETC card and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Toyota Hakodate Airport | 569-17 Takamatsucho, Hakodate 042-0952 (函館市高松町569-17); 0138-59-0100 | 08:00–19:00 from 5 January to 31 March and 1 November to 30 December; 08:00–20:00 from 1 April to 31 October; 09:00–16:00 from 31 December to 4 January; no closing days | In front of the airport. Free shuttle between the terminal and the branch; free pickup from hotels and ryokan in Yunokawa (pickup only) | One-way rentals in both directions, inside and outside the area. ETC card rental available |
| 2. Nissan Hakodate Airport | Address not confirmed; 0138-57-1441 | Not confirmed | Listed by the airport as a domestic-terminal rental counter; the counter in the arrivals lobby also handles Eki Rent-a-Car | Terms not confirmed |
| 3. Nippon In Front of Hakodate Airport | 569-83 Takamatsucho, Hakodate 042-0952 (函館市高松町569-83); 050-1712-2979 | 08:00–19:00 daily; 08:00–17:00 on 31 December 2026 | Check in at the Nippon counter directly opposite the arrivals exit, then a shuttle takes you to the branch (3 minutes by car); a shuttle takes you back to the airport after you return the car. The shuttle fee is not stated | Accepts cars rented at other branches in every class; one-way from here not confirmed |
| 4. Times Car In Front of Hakodate Airport | 569-19 Takamatsucho, Hakodate 042-0952 (函館市高松町569-19); 0138-59-0002 | 08:30–17:00, open all year | About 6 minutes on foot from the front of the airport. A shuttle runs from the counter in the domestic arrivals lobby (5–10 minutes); no staff at the counter | Accepts cars rented at other branches with no conditions; one-way from here not confirmed. Return one hour before your flight |
| 5. Orix Hakodate Airport | 569-56 Takamatsucho, Hakodate (函館市高松町569-56); 0138-59-1990 | 08:00–19:00 daily; check the business calendar for New Year and public holidays | Check in at the airport counter, then a free shuttle takes you to the branch (1 minute by car) | One-way rentals in both directions within Hokkaido only. ETC card rental available |
| 6. Budget Hakodate Airport | 130-107 Takamatsucho, Hakodate 042-0952 (函館市高松町130-107); 0138-84-5057 | 08:00–20:00 normally; 08:00–19:00 from 1 November 2026 to 31 March 2027; 08:00–18:00 from 29 December 2026 to 3 January 2027 | Phone the branch after landing; a shuttle takes about 5 minutes and also takes you back to the airport after you return the car. The shuttle fee is not stated | Return about 1 hour 30 minutes before your flight. Does not keep customers' own cars |
| 7. Worldnet Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport | Address not confirmed; 0138-59-6811 | Not confirmed | Listed by the airport as a domestic-terminal rental counter | Terms not confirmed |
| 8. Apple Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport | 130-7 Takamatsucho, Hakodate 042-0952 (函館市高松町130-7); 0138-85-8177 | 08:00–19:00, open all year | Check in at the counter inside the airport, then a shuttle takes you to the branch (about 5 minutes); a free shuttle takes you back to the airport after you return the car | One-way terms not confirmed |
| 9. HIPS Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport | 575-7 Takamatsucho, Hakodate 042-0952 (函館市高松町575番7); 0120-145-789 | 08:30–18:30 | Register for the free shuttle at the counter inside the airport, then ride a wagon to the branch (about 5 minutes). You sign the contract and collect the car at the branch. You may wait at busy times or share the shuttle | One-way terms not confirmed |
| 10. J-Net Hakodate Airport | Address not confirmed; 0138-86-6018 | Not confirmed | Listed by the airport as a domestic-terminal rental counter | Terms not confirmed |
| 11. Eki Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport | 569 Takamatsucho, Hakodate (函館市高松町569); 0138-57-1441 | 08:00–19:00 all year | The Nissan counter in the arrivals lobby (shared with Nissan; a separate booking window) | The official page says one-way is possible but not the directions |
| 12. One's Hakodate Airport Shuttle-Only Branch | 3-19-12 Yunokawacho, Hakodate 042-0932 (函館市湯川町3-19-12); 0138-57-2283 (shuttle line) | Weekdays 08:30–19:00, weekends and holidays 09:00–18:00. Closed 26 December 2026 to 3 January 2027 (not decided; no bookings) | Fully booking-only branch for air travellers. A shuttle from the airport takes about 5 minutes; give your flight number, party size and departure time beforehand. The shuttle fee is not stated | All cars come with an ETC reader as standard; ETC card rental not confirmed |
| 13. HDC Rent-a-Car In Front of Hakodate Airport | Address not confirmed (the pages give 507-11 and 505-45 Takamatsucho); 0138-86-9870 | Not confirmed (one page gives 08:00–19:00, another 09:00–18:00 from November to March); 09:00–15:00 from 31 December to 3 January | Free shuttle at this branch. Booking-only | Terms not confirmed |
| 14. J Trip Car Rentals Hakodate Airport | 154-35 Tokuracho, Hakodate 042-0953 (函館市戸倉町154-35); 0138-83-5513 | Not confirmed | The official branch list gives a free shuttle bus from the airport | Terms not confirmed |
Reference prices: standard rates at nine companies
This table takes each company's standard rate for a compact car, with the total for two days including basic collision damage waiver (CDW). These are regular-season, tax-inclusive rates before discounts, on a Japanese licence. Worldnet, Apple, HIPS, HDC and J Trip Car Rentals are not in the table.
| Company and class | First 24 hours | Additional day | Basic CDW per day | 48 hours with basic CDW | Minivan (7–8 seats), 24 hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One's M (Vitz, Fit, Note). Mainly used cars; rates vary by branch | ¥4,400 | ¥4,400 | ¥1,100 | ¥11,000 | ¥9,350 |
| Eki Rent-a-Car S (Fit, Yaris) | ¥8,470 | ¥7,150 | ¥1,100 | ¥17,820 | ¥22,550 |
| Budget JS (Yaris, Fit) | ¥8,580 | ¥7,040 | ¥1,430 | ¥18,480 | ¥21,010 |
| Toyota C1 (Yaris, Passo) | ¥8,580 | ¥7,260 | ¥1,100 | ¥18,040 | ¥20,900 |
| Times C-1 (Mazda2, Note e-POWER) | ¥8,855 | ¥7,920 | ¥1,100 | ¥18,975 | ¥22,770 |
| Nippon N-B (Fit, Corolla) | ¥8,910 | ¥7,150 | ¥1,100 | ¥18,260 | ¥22,550 |
| Nissan P2 (March, Note) | ¥9,790 | ¥7,700 | ¥1,650 | ¥20,790 | ¥24,090 |
| Orix SA (Fit, Note 1.2) | ¥9,900 | ¥7,920 | ¥1,100 | ¥20,020 | ¥22,660 |
| J-Net J3 (Yaris, Fit, Mazda2) | ¥10,450 | ¥8,800 | ¥1,100 | ¥21,450 | ¥23,650 |
- The 48-hour total is the first 24 hours, one additional day and two days of basic CDW. A dash means the company's rate table does not list that fee. Where basic CDW shows "Included", the rate already contains it. Extra hours, fuel, one-way fees and options such as child seats are not included.
- Most companies offer member or online discounts, so the booking screen is often cheaper than this table. Peak periods such as Golden Week, Obon and New Year cost more. Enter your dates and class for the actual price.
- Toyota has member discounts of 10% and 20%.
- Budget has a web member rate at 10% off.
- Times has member rates of up to 20% off.
- Nippon has a separate member rate table.
- Nissan's basic CDW is calculated on the Standard Plan at ¥1,650 a day.
- Orix has member discounts and a 5% web discount.
- One's row is from its national rate table; whether it applies at its Hakodate branch is not confirmed.
Prices differ by licence. The table uses the Japanese-licence rate. On a foreign licence, Toyota C1 is ¥10,340 for the first 24 hours and ¥8,690 for each additional 24 hours, before optional cover; the Toyota row above uses the separate Japanese-licence rates of ¥8,580 and ¥7,260. For the other companies, get a quote for your own licence.
There are two routes. With an International Driving Permit, you need the booklet-type permit issued under the 1949 Geneva Convention, and you may drive for one year from the day you land in Japan or until one year after the permit was issued, whichever is earlier. With a licence from Switzerland, Germany, France, Belgium, Monaco or Taiwan, you need the original licence with an official Japanese translation (for example from JAF), and you may drive for one year from the day you land or until the licence itself expires, whichever is earlier. On either route you need your passport, and it must show your landing date. If you are registered as a resident of Japan, a re-entry within three months of leaving does not start the period again. See driving in Japan on a foreign licence.
Check in at the airport counter or call for the shuttle
The routine depends on the company.
- Check in at a counter, then ride to the branch: Nippon (the counter directly opposite the arrivals exit; the branch is 3 minutes by car), Orix (the airport counter; 1 minute by car, free shuttle), Apple and HIPS (counters inside the airport; about 5 minutes). HIPS's shuttle can involve waiting or sharing.
- Counter in the domestic arrivals lobby: Times' counter has no staff, and the branch is 5–10 minutes away. Nissan's counter also handles Eki Rent-a-Car.
- Phone after landing: Budget asks you to phone the branch, and a shuttle takes about 5 minutes and takes you back after you return the car.
- Shuttle from the airport: Toyota runs a free shuttle between the terminal and the branch, and a free pickup from Yunokawa hotels and ryokan. J Trip Car Rentals runs a free shuttle bus.
- Booking-only: One's takes air travellers only, with a shuttle of about 5 minutes; give your flight number, party size and departure time beforehand. HDC is also booking-only and runs a free shuttle.
- Listed only: Worldnet and J-Net appear on the airport's list of domestic-terminal rental counters.
Work back from winter hours and New Year
Hours change by season. Toyota is open 08:00–19:00 from 5 January to 31 March and 1 November to 30 December, 08:00–20:00 from 1 April to 31 October, and 09:00–16:00 from 31 December to 4 January. Budget is normally open 08:00–20:00, 08:00–19:00 from 1 November 2026 to 31 March 2027, and 08:00–18:00 from 29 December 2026 to 3 January 2027. Nippon is open 08:00–19:00, and 08:00–17:00 on 31 December 2026.
One's has not decided its hours from 26 December 2026 to 3 January 2027 and takes no bookings for them. HDC lists 09:00–15:00 from 31 December to 3 January. Return one hour before your flight at Times, and about 1 hour 30 minutes before at Budget.
Frequently asked questions
Can I rent if I land in the evening?
In winter, the branches whose hours are confirmed close between 17:00 (Times) and 19:00. If you land late, confirm closing times and the last shuttle before you book. Toyota stays open until 20:00 from April to October.
Will a shuttle collect me at a Yunokawa hotel?
Toyota offers a free pickup from hotels and ryokan in Yunokawa (pickup only). One's branch is also in Yunokawa.
Can I rent at short notice from a booking-only branch?
One's and HDC are booking-only. One's needs your flight number, party size and departure time beforehand, so contact the branch first if you want to rent at short notice.
What does a two-day rental cost?
On standard rates before discounts, a compact with basic CDW for two days comes to ¥18,040–¥20,790 across the 6 major companies, ¥21,450 at J-Net on a Japanese licence. One’s national rate table is not compared here because whether it applies at this branch is not confirmed. On a foreign licence, Toyota’s base rate is higher; see the price section above.
Guides to read before booking
Sources & photo creditsLast verified 2026-11-04
- Toyota Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Nissan Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Nippon In Front of Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Times Car In Front of Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Orix Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Budget Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Apple Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- HIPS Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Eki Rent-a-Car Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- One's Hakodate Airport Shuttle-Only Branch (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- HDC Rent-a-Car In Front of Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- J Trip Car Rentals Hakodate Airport (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- Toyota: official rate table (class C1 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nissan: official rate table (class P2 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nissan: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nippon: official rate table (class N-B and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Nippon: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Times Car: official rate table (class C-1 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Times Car: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Orix: official rate table (class SA and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Orix: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Budget: official rate table (class JS and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Budget: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- J-Net: official rate table (class J3 and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- J-Net: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-22
- Eki Rent-a-Car: official rate table (class S and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- One's: official rate table (class M and others, in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- One's: official cover, terms or extra rate pages (in Japanese) · 2026-10-21
- Toyota Rent a Car: foreign-licence rate schedule (official page, in English) · 2026-11-04
- Toyota Rent a Car: driver's licence requirements (official page, in English) · 2026-11-04
- National Police Agency: how long an International Driving Permit or foreign licence is valid in Japan (official page, in Japanese) · 2026-11-04
- JAF: Japanese translations of foreign driver's licences (official page, in English) · 2026-11-04







